Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Voyage en Orient
Voyage en Orient
15 janvier 2009

India I love you

Well, is it India? Or just travelling?

Because I have to say that for this past week, I just walk around with basic contentment as the default mode...

When we check email and see the news headlines, it all sounds terrible. Is it really terrible? Or is it just media dramatizing everything? I have no idea. So to think that the two of us, with no jobs, no home we own, just decided to take off and travel carefree---people must think we are crazy, or totally irresponsible.

But I'm really having the time of my life. The "world economic meltdown" doesn't seem to have hit India or Nepal as hard: either because they already have bigger problems, or their state-owned banks and regulation helped shield them, or because things just aren't as developed. People have owned their houses for generations, so no mortgage. Only the super rich buy anything on credit. And when you drive an ox cart, who cares about gas prices? The markets are full of people buying everything imaginable, no one even talks about it!

so the travel bug has bitten me, and hard. Just think: for TWO MONTHS  I have not: had to go grocery shopping, cook, wash a single dish, do laundry (except underwear), or clean my house. This is excellent! and not only does it free up enormous amounts of time, but your mind becomes open and relaxed; you don't have to plan anything. For the first time in my life, I'm living in the present, really. I don't have a watch, don't use my alarm clock, I have completely lost track of what date or day of the week it is, until I have to take a train. Being more present, you see more, have time to meet other humans, share a bit, see what's actually happening around you. Jean Yves and I are getting along fabulously, recovering from all those years of hard work. If it weren't for missing all of you, I'd never come back!

On the down side, there are CONSTANT hassles to buy things, especially it seems in Varanasi: we counted today, and from 11 am - 7 pm, we had 54 different people try to sell us something (and we were inside restaurants for 2 of those hours). We didnt count beggars or people saying just Hello. I've become a fairly good bargainer!

Publicité
Commentaires
Y
As I read your post, I have a big smile on my face. Now you know why JY and I love this life - it can be difficult at times but the rewards are so great. So, next time you pass me on an ox cart, just wave and smile - it says it all. [smile]
Voyage en Orient
Publicité
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité